Clerk of Courts
Motor Vehicle & Watercraft
125 East High Ave, Room 125
New Philadelphia, Ohio 44663
Monday – Friday: 8:30am – 4:30pm
Closed for lunch 12:00 pm – 1:00 pm
206 East 3rd Street
Uhrichsville, Ohio 44683
Until further notice this branch office will be closed Monday – Friday
Open Saturday – 8:00am – 12:00pm
Title Office – Title Transfers
Information for Completion of Transfer of Title
ALL OF THE INFORMATION ON THIS SITE IS GOVERNED BY STATE LAWS!
When You Have A Mortgage On Your Automobile
Duplicate & Replacement Titles
Salvage, Junk & Rebuilt Or Self Assembled Vehicles
When You Buy A Car Out Of Ohio That Carries An Out Of State Title Or Registration
Truck Campers, Travel Trailer & Commercial Trailers
Boats, Outboard Motors & Personal Watercrafts
Off Road Motorcycles & All Terrain Vehicles
Deputy Registrar & Title Office Locations & Hours
When notarizing an assignment on titles, the seller is required by law to enter all information before it is signed and notarized. The notary or deputy clerk can assist in completing the assignment.
Never make any alterations, erasures or use white-out on a Certificate of Title; if this is done, the title becomes null and void and a replacement title will have to be obtained.
Do not fill in any part of the assignment or application on the reverse side of the title, unless it is done in the presence of a Notary Public or other duly authorized officer with power to administer oaths. All signatures must be notarized. A Drivers license or other means of identification may be required at the time of notarization.
Your Certificate of Title must be procured within 30 days after the assignment date (which is the date of the notarization of the sellers signature) on the title, otherwise by law the Clerk of Courts has to assess an additional $5.00 fee.
Always make a physical inspection of any automobile you buy, checking the serial number to see that it corresponds with the serial number on your Certificate of Title and the odometer reading. If the odometer reading is incorrect, you should require the seller to obtain a corrected replacement title prior to the purchase.
Do not execute the assignment on the reverse side of the Certificate of Title until a bona fide sale has been made. Make certain that the buyers full name, address, purchase price and mileage is inserted before you sign the assignment. Initials are not acceptable unless they are the given name. You must sign the assignment in the presence of a notary public or other duly authorized officer with power to administer an oath.
NOTICE TO SELLER: You are required by law to enter all information required herein, including the true selling price and odometer reading of the motor vehicle, on the title. The making of a false statement under oath or affirmation is in violation of Section 2921.13 of the Ohio Revised Code and is punishable by six months imprisonment and a fine up to one thousand dollars, or both.
FEDERAL ODOMETER LAW
Federal and state laws require that you state the mileage in connection with transfer of ownership of a vehicle. Failure to complete or providing false information may result in fines and/or imprisonment under Chapter 4505 of the Ohio Revised Code.
POWER OF ATTORNEY
No person can sign for you without a notarized power of attorney form. This power of attorney is attached to our files and becomes a part thereof. If an additional copy is required, you must have the power of attorney recorded by the County Recorder and a certified copy secured before coming to the Clerk of Courts Title Office.
The Ohio State Legislature enacted a sales tax law on a casual sale of a motor vehicle or watercraft. Any person purchasing a motor vehicle or watercraft from another person must fill out a tax form stating the purchase price upon which sales tax is levied. This form must be sworn to before a person duly authorized to administer oaths. This form is now encompassed within the application for title on the reverse side of the Ohio Certificate of Title. For purchases from out of state, a separate form is required. If the purchaser is claiming a tax exemption, a separate tax exemption form must be completed. These forms and be obtained from any Clerk of Courts’ office.
Sales tax in Tuscarawas County is currently 6.75%.
A use tax must be paid by a resident of Ohio when he purchases a motor vehicle outside the State of Ohio. This applies to the purchase of a car for use or storage, in Ohio. The use tax is applied the same as sales tax. Any sales tax paid to another state can be credited toward Ohio’s tax, however, proof of payment of the sales tax must be presented.
PAYMENT OF OHIO SALES & USE TAX
Section 4505.06 of the Ohio Revised Code requires that the Ohio Sales Tax and Use Tax be paid to the Clerk of Courts before an application for an automobile title can be accepted. The Clerk of Courts is required to administer this law and collect this tax for the State of Ohio.
The Tuscarawas County Clerk of Courts accepts VISA and MasterCard as well as cash, personal or business checks, money orders for the payment of taxes and fees. Anyone obtaining multiple titles within any month must have a letter of Guarantee on file with the office if payment of taxes and fees are being paid by business checks.
WHEN YOU HAVE A MORTGAGE ON YOUR AUTOMOBILE
If you apply for a loan, using your car as collateral, always insist upon getting a Memorandum Certificate of Title with which you can obtain license plates.
Upon satisfaction of your mortgage, you should receive the original Certificate of Title from the bank or finance company, properly stamped “paid” and “lien cancelled” by the Clerk of Courts. If the mortgagor fails to have the lien discharged by the Clerk of Courts, you should immediately have the Clerk of Courts cancel and discharge the lien on the public records for your safety. There is no fee for this service. However, if you should lose your certificate of title without the lien being discharged by the Clerk of Courts, you would be required to have the mortgage company obtain a duplicate title for you.
You cannot transfer ownership of an automobile with a Memorandum Certificate of Title (white copy). It is issued only for the purpose of obtaining license plates when the original title is held by the lienholder.
DUPLICATE AND REPLACEMENT TITLES
If the original title is lost, stolen or destroyed, you may obtain a Duplicate Certificate of Title. If after issuance of the Duplicate, the original title is recovered, the original must be returned to this office for cancellation. If there is an open lien showing on the records in the Clerk of Courts office, the mortgager is required to obtain the duplicate title for you.
If an error is made on the assignment portion of the back of the title, you will need to get the title replaced. Erasures or alterations in the assignment void the title. White-out or any other type of corrective tape cannot be used. You must present the original title at the time the replacement is being applied for.
If there is an error in the information showing on the face of the title, the owner must submit proof of the error and present the original title for replacement. Errors may be in the form of misspellings or transposition of numbers. If the VIN is completely different from what is on the vehicle or watercraft, a title search may be necessary in order to correct the title.
CHANGE OF NAME
If your name is changed through marriage or court proceedings, the name on your Certificate of Title cannot be changed. There is no authority in the law to issue a new title in your new name, for the same vehicle.
BODY TYPE CHANGE
If the body type is changed in any manner and is not the motor vehicle described on your title, present your title to the Clerk of Courts Office so a body change may be made.
A salvage vehicle is any vehicle that is dismantled, destroyed or changed in such a manner that it loses its character as a motor vehicle, or changed in such a manner that it is not the motor vehicle described on the Certificate of Title.
When an insurance company declares a vehicle a total loss and pays the agreed price for the purchase of the vehicle to a claimant, the insurance company or the owner must obtain a salvage certificate of title within 30 days.
If the insurance declares the vehicle impractical to repair, the original owner may retain the vehicle but they must obtain a salvage title in their name to receive settlement from the insurance company. This vehicle, now titled as salvage, can no longer be operated on the highways until a regular certificate of title is obtained.
When you dismantle, destroy or change the character of your automobile so that it no longer is a complete car, you must surrender your Certificate of Title to the Clerk of Courts office for cancellation.
When you sell your car to a Junk Dealer you must surrender your Certificate of Title to that dealer with the assignment (on the back of the title) completely executed.
REBUILT FROM SALVAGE AND SELF ASSEMBLED VEHICLES
The Ohio State Highway Patrol must inspect all self-assembled motor vehicles and rebuilt salvage motor vehicles before a regular title can be issued. Applications for inspection can be obtained from any highway patrol office and must be paid for prior to the inspection. The inspection form must be presented with all evidence of ownership (salvage title or bill of sale for parts) to obtain a Certificate of Title.
WHEN YOU BUY A CAR OUT OF OHIO THAT CARRIES AN OUT OF STATE TITLE OR REGISTRATION CERTIFICATE
If you purchase a car out of the state from a private party, it is necessary that the seller assign his title to you and have it notarized if the previous state requires their transactions to be notarized. Be sure that the Notary Public’s seal is affixed. If the car is registered in a non-title state, the seller’s certificate of registration with a notarized bill of sale is required. If you have a mortgaged out-of-state car to register in Ohio, it is necessary that a certified copy of the mortgage, conditional sales contract or other similar instrument be presented with your title or registration.
INSPECTION OF OUT OF STATE VEHICLE FOR SERIAL NUMBER
If the application for a Certificate of Title refers to a motor vehicle last previously registered in another state or country, the application shall be accompanied by a Physical Inspection Certificate verifying the year, make, body type, model, manufacturer’s serial number and the odometer reading of the motor vehicle. The Department of Highway Safety Inspection Certificates are completed at various Inspection Stations throughout the state, including the Deputy Registrar’s offices and automobile dealerships.
The owner of a manufactured or mobile home is required to obtain a Certificate of Title. The difference between a transfer of a motor vehicle and a manufactured or mobile home is that the manufactured or mobile home title must have two transfer approval stamps on the face of it. These stamps as required by “Section 4503.061(E)” of the Ohio Revised Code are applied to the title by the Treasurer’s and Auditor’s Offices in the county in which the manufactured home was located at the time of the sale. The stamps show that the trailer taxes are current and the conveyance taxes have been paid. Without these stamps the title cannot be transferred. There is no sales or use tax collected by the clerk of courts on manufactured or mobile home transactions titled after January 1, 2000.
In addition to the title fees, per Section “4505.06(H)” of the Ohio Revised Code, a $5.00 archival fee is required to be paid on all manufactured or mobile home titles applied for when a change of ownership occurs.
TRUCK CAMPERS, TRAVEL TRAILERS & COMMERCIAL TRAILERS
Effective August 27, 1976, the certificate of title law was amended for the issuance of titles for all truck campers. These must be titled in the State of Ohio and are transferred in the same manner as motor vehicles.
Effective September 16, 1963, the certificate of title law was amended for the issuance of titles for all travel trailers not exceeding a gross weight of 4,500 pounds or an overall length of thirty feet, designed and equipped as a TEMPORARY DWELLING for travel, recreational and vacation uses.
A certificate of title is not required on any Utility-Commercial trailer weighing less than 4,000 pounds. To obtain license plates you must procure a weight card from the weigh station and have the trailer weighed.
Commercial trailers or semi-trailers weighing in excess of 4,000 pounds must have a Certificate of Title. To sell, transfer or mortgage such trailers the Certificate of Title must be presented.
BOATS, OUTBOARD MOTORS AND PERSONAL WATERCRAFTS
Per Section “1548.06” of the Ohio Revised Code. any owner of a watercraft 14 feet and over, or an outboard motor 10 HP and over, must have a valid certificate of title. Owners of watercraft less than 14 feet, canoes, kayaks and outboard motors less than 10 HP, are not required to have a title unless the watercraft is less than fourteen feet long with a permanently affixed mechanical means of propulsion. Personal watercrafts, commonly called jet skies, are required to be titled effective January 1, 2000. Section “1548.21” of the Ohio Revised Code requires that any current owner must obtain a Certificate of Title prior to mortgaging, selling or otherwise disposing of a boat, outboard motor or personal watercraft. Applications for personal watercraft titles must have both the hull identification number and the motor identification number as well as the year, make, model, length and horsepower of the motor. If a title has not been previously issued in Ohio, the owner may present a manufacturer’s statement of origin (MSO) or a sworn statement of ownership. For out of state watercraft, the owner may present a certificate of title, bill of sale, or other evidence of ownership required by the law of the state from which the watercraft came.
If you do not have a valid certificate of title for your boat, motor or personal watercraft, please apply as soon as possible at the title office, as all applications have to be checked with the Division of Watercraft in Columbus, Ohio before a title can be issued.
Online Watercraft Registration Renewal is available here.
OFF ROAD MOTORCYCLES AND ALL TERRAIN VEHICLES
As of July 1, 1999, Section “4519.53” of the Revised code requires that Certificate of Title be issued for all off road motorcycles and all-purposes vehicles. Per Section “4519.55” of the Revised code, current owners of off-highway motorcycle or all-purpose vehicle shall make an application for a certificate or title. The application must be accompanied by a Physical Inspection Certificate verifying the year, make, body type, model, and manufacturer’s serial number. The Department of Highway Safety Inspection Certificates are completed at various Inspection Stations throughout the state, including the Deputy Registrar’s offices, automobile, motorcycle and ATV dealerships. The application must also be accompanied by a manufacturer’s or importer’s certificate or a sworn statement of ownership and bill of sale or other evidence of ownership. If the bill of sale or MSO is not available, please contact the Clerk of Courts Title Department for other forms of documentation that may be used to obtain a title.
If you do not have a valid certificate of title for your off-road motorcycle or all-purpose vehicle, you must obtain one before it can be mortgaged, sold or disposed of. Feel free to contact the Clerk of Courts’ title office if you have any questions.
Oaths-administered by Clerk of Courts $1.00
Archive Fee $5.00
Penalty (30 days) $5.00
Physical Inspection (Clerk of Courts) $1.50
Physical Inspection (Inspection Station) $5.00
Motor Vehicle Salvage Title $4.00
Watercraft Title $15.00
Cancellation of Lien N/C
Remember that the Certificate of Title to your automobile is similar to the Deed to your real property. Take good care of it.
Do not carry your certificate of title on your person or in your car. Keep it in a safe place. This is your proof of ownership.
If you are in doubt concerning the transfer, sale or placing a mortgage on a motor vehicle, always call your Clerk of Courts Title Office for complete information.
DEPUTY REGISTRAR AND TITLE OFFICE LOCATIONS AND HOURS
New Philadelphia Title Office
Monday thru Friday: 8:30am-4:30pm
125 East High Avenue, Room 125
P. O. Box 628
New Philadelphia, Ohio 44663
Uhrichsville Title Office
Monday – Friday: 8:45am – 5:00pm
Closed for lunch 12:00pm – 1:00pm
Saturday – 8:00am – 12:00pm
206 E. Third Street
Uhrichsville, Ohio 44683
DEPUTY REGISTRARS LOCATIONS
1260 Monroe St.
Monroe Mall Plaza Suite 11F
New Philadelphia, Ohio 44663
Twin City License Bureau
206 E. Third Street
Uhrichsville, Ohio 44683
Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles 1970 East Broad Street Columbus, Ohio 43266-0020 (614) 752-7500